News Karnataka
Sunday, June 16 2024

PM Modi Calls For ‘Democracy Duty’ As Voting Begins in Fourth Phase

PM Modi
Photo Credit : PTI
New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday morning expressed hope that people will vote in large numbers to strengthen democracy while Union Home Minister Amit Shah urged voters including those in Jammu and Kashmir to reach polling booths in record numbers as polling began for the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections.

Prime Minister Modi, speaking through a social media platform, expressed confidence in the electorate’s commitment to democracy. He highlighted the significance of the 96 seats across 10 states and Union Territories up for grabs, urging citizens, particularly the youth and women, to exercise their voting rights diligently to fortify democracy.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah echoed similar sentiments, urging voters across Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, and Jammu & Kashmir to turn out in unprecedented numbers. He emphasized the importance of forming a government dedicated to upholding heritage, prioritizing the welfare of the underprivileged, combating Naxalism, and fostering national development.The fourth phase of polling commenced at 7:00 am, covering 96 Parliamentary Constituencies across nine states and one Union Territory. Simultaneously, voting for all 175 seats in the Andhra Pradesh State Legislative Assembly and 28 seats in the Odisha State Legislative Assembly began.

Among the 96 Lok Sabha seats, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, and Jammu and Kashmir are represented. A total of 1,717 candidates from these regions are contesting in this phase.

The Election Commission of India reported a total of 4,264 nominations for the 96 parliamentary constituencies, with Telangana and Andhra Pradesh leading in nomination submissions.

Key political figures vying for success in this phase include Asaduddin Owaisi, Akhilesh Yadav, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Mahua Moitra, Giriraj Singh, Rajiv Ranjan Singh, Shatrughan Sinha, Yusuf Pathan, Arjun Munda, Madhavi Latha, and YS Sharmila.

Prominent Lok Sabha constituencies witnessing polling include Baharampur, Hyderabad, Krishnanagar, Begusarai, Munger, Srinagar, Asansol, Kannauj, Kadapa, and Khunti.

The Election Commission also extended polling time in certain assembly segments of 17 Parliamentary Constituencies in Telangana to enhance voter participation.

Weather conditions for polling day are predicted to be favorable, with normal to below-normal temperatures expected across the constituencies, according to the IMD forecast. The Election Commission assured meticulous arrangements at polling stations to ensure voter convenience.

As of the conclusion of the third phase, polling has proceeded smoothly and peacefully in 283 Lok Sabha seats.

Read More:

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Recent News
Editor's Pick
Nktv Live

To get the latest news on WhatsApp