News Karnataka
Monday, June 17 2024
Andhra Pradesh

Video: MLA From Jagan Reddy’s Party Slaps Voter in Polling Queue, He Hits Back

Jagan Reddy'
Photo Credit : X

During the ongoing polling for the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections in 2024, a video circulated widely showing an altercation between YSRCP MLA VS Shivakumar and a voter at a polling booth in Andhra Pradesh on May 13. In the footage captured at a polling station in Guntur, both Shivakumar and the voter can be observed engaging in physical confrontation.

The video depicts the MLA from Andhra Pradesh approaching the individual amid a heated exchange, eventually resorting to physical violence by slapping him. In response, the voter retaliates by slapping and punching Shivakumar. Subsequently, supporters of the MLA join in and assault the voter.

Bharatiya Janata Party spokesperson Shehzad Poonawalla also shared the video, condemning the behavior of the YS Jagan Mohan Reddy’s party MLA as “arrogance & goondagardi”.

Shehzad Poonawalla posted the video on social media platform X, expressing, “VVIP arrogance & goondagardi on full display. YSRCP MLA A Sivakumar slaps voter in Andhra Pradesh’s Guntur. Telangana Congress neta kicks voter. Congress’ Randeep Surjewala once said Janta is Rakshas! If this is how they are treating voters at the polling booth imagine what they will do post elections. Time to kick these parties and netas out!”

The voting process for all Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh commenced at 7 am. Alongside the Lok Sabha polls, voting is also underway in the state for the assembly elections.

Earlier in the day, reports of poll-related violence surfaced from Andhra Pradesh, with the opposition party TDP alleging that the ruling YSRCP had abducted its poll agents. TDP further accused their rival party of assaulting some of their polling agents, leading to disruptions in the voting process.

As of 11 am, Andhra Pradesh recorded a 23.1% voter turnout for the 25 Lok Sabha seats and 23% for the 175-seat Assembly, according to an Election Commission app.

Governor S Abdul Nazeer, Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy, and TDP supremo N Chandrababu Naidu, along with their respective family members, were among the early voters in Andhra Pradesh on Monday.

Share this:
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Recent News
Editor's Pick
Nktv Live

To get the latest news on WhatsApp